UG Apply

Open days

Our open days give you and your family a glimpse of Manchester life and a real feel for our friendly, family-like atmosphere. This is the best way to find out more about the School of Materials, quiz us on the details of our courses and meet our staff.

Throughout the day you can attend a range of talks about our courses and enjoy some taster lectures. You will have opportunities to talk to current students and academics and find out what they love about working and studying in Materials. You can also have fun playing with our interactive demonstrations and exhibits.

Our open days are a fantastic opportunity for you to gain a deeper understanding of our cutting-edge research, how it feeds into our teaching, and what you can expect to gain from studying in our School.

Upcoming Open Days 

  • Saturday 30 September 2017
  • Saturday 14 October 2017

If you would like to attend, please complete the open day registration form. If you are unable to come to one of our open days please find open day presentation (PPTX format), alternatively you can join a guided visit of the campus.

UCAS visit days

Once you have applied for one of our courses we will invite to a UCAS visit day at the School. This year the visit days are schedules as follows:

Textiles

  • Wed 25 November
  • Wed 9 December
  • Wed 10 February
  • Wed 24 February
  • Wed 2 March
  • Wed 9 March
  • Wed 16 March

The Textile Visit Days are held at the Sackville Street Building (building 1 on the campus map)

Materials Science

  • Wed 21 October
  • Wed 18 November
  • Wed 2 December
  • Wed 3 February
  • Wed 17 February
  • Wed 9 March

The Material Sciences Visit Days are held in the MSS Tower (building 99 on the campus map).

If you can't attend the open days for this session but would like to see the facilities, please contact us to make arrangements for a tour. In the meantime, you can get a head start by downloading a prospectus or joining our Aspiring Student Society.

#WhichWay

Interested in Science and Engineering but not sure what to study?

We can help you decide #WhichWay you should go…

Did you know?

We have the largest university materials department in the western world
▲ Up to the top